Barrister and Mann LLC

Reviews


 

  3275

03/25/2019
Behold the Whatsis!
"Exceptional experience as always. The scent bring me back to times of old, when I was a young man and when life was much simpler."
Vinral G.
03/25/2019
Amazing
"Love this one! Awesome product as always!"
Mark W.
03/25/2019
Whimsical
"I loved Dr. Seuss growing up. There's probably some books floating around in some boxes in my mothers basement. The Lorax, You're Only Old Once, Oh The Places You'll Go are all staples of my childhood. So I had to get this. It's a great, whimsical, spring-y scent. A while after shaving, your nose gets used to the citrus and rose top notes and you get more of the sugar cookie and dryer sheet notes that may be harder to detect immediately. And what more needs to be said about the Excelsior base?"
JESSE G.
03/25/2019
Once again Awesome !!
"Definitely everything you said it would be !! The sent profile was on the money and would definitely order again before April 11th. "
Rob C.
03/25/2019
Delightfully Whimsical
"From the packaging to the artwork to the scent itself, Behold the Whatsis! offers a delightfully whimsical experience."
Michael H.
03/25/2019
Great Lather
"So far i love the Reserve Wave. The scent blends well with my cologne and it makes a killer lather. Keep it mild youll use a little but more water with this soap but once you get it right its a really enjoyable shave. Oh and again the scent is amazing. "
Jared H.
03/24/2019
Love it!
"The fragrance on this stuff is excellent, admittedly it smelled kind of strange off the puck to me but dont judge a book by the cover. This is instantly one of my favorite scents, make sure you get the splash also it really rounds out the scent and the dry down is just amazing. "
luke jodoin
03/24/2019
Fantastic Fragrance in a Superb Soap
"Floid Blue is a legend among traditional wet shavers and Barrister and Mann's take on this iconic scent is superb. The scent is cool and sophisticated, perfect for the office, date night or just relaxing outside on a beautiful day. While the Barrister's Reserve line had been on my radar for some time, it was the inclusion of the free samples of aftershave with my B&M orders that finally convinced me that I needed to try the soaps. Thankfully my lovely wife made included both the Spice and Cool scents as part of my Valentine's Day gift and I couldn't be happier. The Barrister's Reserve soaps have a reputation as being a bit finicky when it comes to lathering but I have had no such trouble. While these soaps may not lather as readily as the Glissant or Excelsior base, they should not be too troublesome for experienced wet shavers. The single biggest suggestion I can make to people new to this soap base is to add plenty of water as you build your lather. The Reserve soaps provides an exemplary post-shave feel and my den will not be without these soaps in the future!"
Ben Nielson
03/24/2019
Nostalgia in a Jar
"The original Old Spice was my grandfather's scent of choice and Barrister and Mann does a fantastic job of reviving this fragrance for a new generation of traditional wet shavers! While the Barrister's Reserve line had been on my radar for some time, it was the inclusion of the free samples of aftershave with my B&M orders that finally convinced me that I needed to try the soaps. Thankfully my lovely wife made included both the Spice and Cool scents as part of my Valentine's Day gift and I couldn't be happier. The Barrister's Reserve soaps have a reputation as being a bit finicky when it comes to lathering but I have had no such trouble. While these soaps may not lather as readily as the Glissant or Excelsior base, they should not be too troublesome for experienced wet shavers. The single biggest suggestion I can make to people new to this soap base is to add plenty of water as you build your lather. The Reserve soaps provides an exemplary post-shave feel and my den will not be without these soaps in the future!"
Ben Nielson
03/24/2019
Who-rah! for Behold the Whatsis!
"As always the Barrister and Mann aftershaves provide wonderful performance along with fantastic fragrances. While I found the scent of the lathered shave soap to be a bit more citrus forward, featuring the tangerine and grapefruit notes, the aftershave very closely resembles the description you can find above. While this fragrance is definitely on the sweet end of the spectrum it falls well short of being cloying. I think this scent is delightfully cheerful, perfect for the spring and early summer months. This scent fades a bit quicker than many of B&M's other offerings but that is common among lighter fragrances. Despite this my wife was still complimenting me on Behold the Whatsis! hours after I used it and it has quickly become one of her favorites. I hope that, much like 42, Behold the Whatsis! returns to barristerandmann.com each year as we celebrate the author(s) that inspired this fragrance!"
Ben Nielson
03/24/2019
Who-rah! for Behold the Whatsis!
"When I first received my sample of Behold the Whatsis! (from Maggardrazors.com) I was a bit unsure about this fragrance. The sweetness of the soap was a bit beyond what I might prefer but the accord as a whole was very nice. Add to this that my wife was instantly in love with the scent and I worked to keep an open mind as I shaved with this soap for the first time. My patience was rewarded as the sweetness mellowed a bit as I whipped this soap into a lovely lather. I find the lathered soap to be very citrus forward, with the grapefruit and tangerine harmonizing with the rose and sugar cookie sweetness. A linen scent is present but as a minor note that hints at blankets fresh from the dryer. After drying the individual notes melded and faded into a delightfully cheerful scent that I caught occasional whiffs of for hours (as in this case, I generally choose to forgo aftershave when I first test a soap). The Excelsior base is excellent, a great compromise between the latherability of the older Glissant base and the face feel of the Barrister Reserve line. I found Excelsior very easy to face lather using either a Silvertip badger brush or a synthetic. The lather was dense and held ample moisture for a slick, comfortable shave. The post shave qualities are nearly as good as that of the Barrister Reserve soaps but I'm still going to give this older formula a slight edge. This should not be considered a condemnation of the Excelsior base as the Reserve formula is one of my favorite bases, despite the fact that some wet shavers find this soap a bit finicky to lather. After one shave I ordered the full set and I can see it being one of my new favorites for spring. It is my hope that every year as millions of school kids are introduced to Dr. Seuss, the wet shaving community will once again find Behold the Whatsis! here at barristerandmann.com. "
Ben Nielson
03/24/2019
Sneaks up on you
"Lathers well and is very slick. At first use not very impressed with the fragrance. However, There was a delayed reaction thorough out the next couple of hours that changed my opinion of this soap. The fragrance profile became more noticeable and defined. I fell in love with Whatsis after that. I enjoyed it so much that I bought two more tubs."
Antonio
03/23/2019
Amazing!!
"Smells exactly like the soap!! I love this and the sting of that perfect alcohol aftershave. This sting is pleasant that leans into the nourishing face feel finish. This isn’t your Walgreens $3 aftershave. There is definitely something more to this."
Jon
03/23/2019
Changes with body chemistry
"I have enjoyed this very much. Smells 100% different between my wife using it and myself. With me it’s a very fresh masculine scent that’s great for spring. With my wife it is feminine and spring like. Almost a perfect perfume. Great over all shave with this soap!"
Jon
03/22/2019
Fantastic Soap
"Incredible scent, one of the best things I've ever smelt actually. "
John Dillon
03/21/2019
Light and nice
"I was pleasantly surprised with the light scent and great cooling sensation. This is my first time using after shave, but my face feels much smoother and the scent is pleasant and subtle. It also has helped a lot with razor burn. Would buy again for sure! "
Erik T.
03/20/2019
Slick Seville
"This soap lathers so creamy and thick that my razor just glides through all 3 passes. The aroma is so nice, as well. I paired this with the aftershave for the one two punch. Another fabulous soap from Barrister and Mann!"
William s.
03/19/2019
Too much fun!
"What a fantastic product! I bundled the soap and after shave - opened up the shipment, popped the top, held it up to my wife for a sniff - "I LOVE it!" (I could easily end the review on that note!) As far as the soap in function, I have no doubt that like the other B&M products this too with provide an excellent experience. Levity is a beautiful thing - from the usual shipping goodies to product marketing - let's have some more of this kind of fun with future limited release offerings! "
Dave C.
03/19/2019
Love love love this scent
"I did not have a Lavender scent in my rotation and was curious. This scent is a home run- light notes if Lavender that don’t overpower but lasts through the work day. You cannot go wrong with this aftershave and soap!"
William s.
03/19/2019
Best Lavender scent soap of them all :)
"Scent and lather are amazing. Scent is like a Lavender spice type "
Marcus D.
03/19/2019
Hesistant 5-star, but only because of scent
"As with most BM products, this arrived quickly with thoughtful packaging. The aftershave itself is top-shelf, soothing my skin after a shave and not drying it out. My only quibble, and this is really tiny, is the scent is noticeably different than Seville shave soap. It's clearly the same smell, has the same elements, however the aftershave seems to present the ingredients differently. The shave soap has a pronounced lemon note at the top, this does not. This has a much richer, darker overall scent. I like it very much, I just want to put it out there that this doesn't match exactly to the soap. As always, fantastic product, fantastic customer service, fair price."
Jon Washburn
03/18/2019
Lavender Shaving Soap
"Best Lavender shave soap I've ever used."
Larry M.
03/18/2019
A Scent That's More Than Soapworthy
"The original Fougeres naturae series (Aromatique and Imperiale) were amazing scents for shaving soap - complex, unique, crafted with high quality materials. The new Fougers EDTs are even more impressive. The complexity of the drydowns are more apparent, the duration is hours long, and the mix of ingredients is more apparent to the untrained nose -- like mine! Even more impressively, Mssrs. Barrister & Mann have maintained the all natural ingredient list. That impressive quality makes both of these scents a bargain, as all natural perfumes of this complexity and strength are usually much costlier. Fougere Imperiale is the less "spicy" scent of the two, being a mildly sweet, very green smelling scent.. I've heard this compared to Penhaligons' "English Fern", but IMO, the B&M scent is darker and deeper due to the mushroom absolute in the mix. English Fern is five minutes in a meadow in May, while FI is a few hours in the heart of the woods in late March. Both basically cheerful, but FI is brooding and full of contrasts, while English Fern is shallow and fleeting. All in all, another triumph and one of the most unique scents in wet shaving / artisanal grooming. "
Craig K.
03/17/2019
feel good scent
"This is a feel good scent and feels good splashed on your face. It is awesome. Great for spring and summer. In the winter, it can lift your spirits with the hope of spring. I wished it lasted all day. A cologne would be great."
Dave
03/16/2019
Better buy now-sis!
"This great new shave soap idea is just the new scent I was looking for! I have used the manly ROAM soap for a while now and dabbled in smaller samples of others. This is definately a clean bright scent to me, the rose smelling perfect and childhood memories ingredient keeps my face youthful for my Wife. If you want a nice, clean, softly yet still classic new shave soap pick up this limited run NOW!"
KEVIN HALLENBECK
03/15/2019
Great Scent
"Great scent! It makes me feel content and happy. I bought this along with the soap. Not much else to say that I didn't already say in my soap review, but I will say that I noticed the sugar cookie note is a little more prominent in the aftershave and that is not a bad thing at all. Great release."
Caleb
03/15/2019
Such a Neat Idea
"This was such a neat idea! This soap is everything I'd hoped it would be. I loved the artwork and the scent is incredible. This scent really does evoke the fond memories of childhood when everyday was the best day ever. I felt like I was 7 years old again, if only for the 15 minutes of my shave routine."
Caleb
03/15/2019
Perfection
"The new base is fantastic, lathers extremely well and is very slick. The scent has jumped into my top 3 by B&M."
Ryan W.
03/14/2019
INCREDIBLE!
"This was my first BM purchase. Needless to say, I hate that I waited so long. I’m a bit weird when it comes to which soaps and scents I buy. I study them, look into why they’re made the way they’re made, back ground, reasons it all comes together etc. Le Grande Chypre caught my attention when I saw a picture of it online. I was intrigued. When I found out the scents were inspired by Cypress, the actual place, I was hooked as I’ve been there a few times and love it there. I won’t get into all the notes, but the scent is smooth, sweet, comforting, relaxing, inviting and people notice it. Not only does the splash and soap smell INCREDIBLE, the performance is TOP notch and I feel comfortable saying BM products are second to none. If you’re thinking about it, GET IT. "
roy v.
03/14/2019
Excellent
"Smells great but not overpowering. It will last for a long time."
William E.

Sign Up for Our Mailing List!