Barrister and Mann LLC

Reviews


 

  3088

12/08/2018
Vespers Shaving Soap
"25 second load on a damp synthetic brush transformed with ease into one of the slickest, most luxurious shaving lathers I have experienced. The cushion is outstanding. The scent is difficult for me to pin down but I can tell you my wife loves it. I can't wait for this new Excelsior soap base to make its way to new Barrister and Mann offerings. "
Robert A.
12/07/2018
Dark, evolving, smooth
"Opens with soil and damp ashes, and transforms over the next hours into a bouquet of dead flowers by a grave in the forest. Absolutely gorgeous, with exceptional longevity and projection. Masterfully balanced, with all the notes painting a picture greater than just the sum of the parts. In contrast to the ashy opening, the drydown is warm, bucolic, and gorgeously inviting. My skin tends to "eat up" many fragrances, but I get 8 to 10 hours from this easily. Fougere Gothique never fails to inspire an "Mm, you smell good," from my SO. I hope this masterpiece stays in production forever, as I plan to always have it on hand. This is my favorite fragrance of all time, and when my second bottle runs out, I will buy it again. Or trade, wheedle, barter or beg to acquire some. It's that good."
Scott E
12/07/2018
First time B&M (and artisan soap) user
"I love the fall and winter months and this scent captures both. There's a smoky base to it, but it's so much more than that, with bright notes as well to compliment the depth of the smoky base. I really like this soap. And stepping up to an artisan soap after shaving with Proraso and Taylor of Old Bond Street for the first few years of wet shaving is fantastic. Can't say enough good things about Will and the team at B&M not only for a great product (function and scent are on point), but also for the customer service. In my order I received some aftershave samples and those were incredible as well. Any question I've had has been answered quickly. This isn't just a review for Nocturne, but for B&M, of whom I will be a lifelong fan."
Rico M.
12/07/2018
Seasonal goodness
"This is a really nice fragrance. I have received several compliments on this fragrance since i’ve started wearing this. It is perfect for the holidays or simply cold weather. I’m very happy with the purchase."
Eamonn K.
12/07/2018
Another winning product
"Once again Will has produced a fantastic scent to make the season brighter. The performance is top notched. It’s very slick and post shave feel is fantastic. I am very happy and my wife loves the scent. Winning "
Timothy W.
12/07/2018
Magnificent
"wonderful scent that fits with the soap perfectly and is just the right intensity. It's truly the perfect holiday aftershave."
Nathan Keech
12/07/2018
Magnificent
"I just finished my second shave with this soap and it's truly wonderful, once again the B&M has really exceeded my expectations, and I'm looking forward to enjoying this soap through the rest of the holiday season."
Nathan Keech
12/07/2018
GREAT SOAP!
"Absolutely love this scent. Smells like Christmas without smelling like a yankee candle. Complex, understated scents that last most of the day but does not project into the room, but good for your significant other to snuggle up to. New soap base is slick enough for a straight and cushioned enough for a DE. Falls somewhere between the reserve and the regular soap base IMHO. If you like B and M buy this soap you won’t be disappointed. "
Chad P.
12/06/2018
Vespers
"Phenomenal product, right there with the very best! The scent is addictive and the shaving experience was excellent. In my opinion, a step forward from the Glissant base. Well done!"
Razvan H.
12/06/2018
Warm
"Enjoy the scent, the spice scent is the dominate tone of this"
John H.
12/06/2018
Cannot get enough of this scent!
"Masterfully crafted winter scent by Barrister and Mann. The new Excelsior base is the best there is also. I will be using the soap and aftershave set throughout the entire winter here in New England. "
Ruds
12/06/2018
Cannot get enough of this scent!
"Masterfully crafted winter scent by Barrister and Mann. I will be using the soap and aftershave set throughout the entire winter here in New England. "
Jason R.
12/06/2018
Amazing!
"I absolutely love it!"
Graham R.
12/05/2018
Reserve Lavender
"Amazing! Very slick, it takes water with ease. You don’t have to worry about trying to add the right amount. I can’t wait to try Cool,Spice,classic and Fern. B&M got it right "
Brenton w.
12/05/2018
Vespers
"Scent is reminiscent of a warm winter evening with hints of spice. Very comforting. The new soap base is outstanding, easy to lather. Post shave.....come on, it’s Barrister and Mann, superb!!!"
Joseph H.
12/05/2018
New Favorite
"Yet another new favorite!"
Todd S.
12/04/2018
love this soap!
"I love everything about this soap! The smell, the lather, the lubricity, how long it lasts. It is my new favorite!"
Matt S.
12/04/2018
Best Christmas seasonal scent yet
"The splash is a perfect complement to the soap. The scent is phenomenal, and performance of the soap, in brand new Excelsior base, was off the charts. One of my very favorite artisans for their scent mastery and attention to quality and performance."
Brian M.
12/04/2018
Love it
"Feels great smells great. Great customer service!"
Justin S.
12/04/2018
Great scent
"Very fresh light aquatic scent. Excellent soap as usual. "
Enrique G.
12/04/2018
Helping me build a year-round B&M collection
"Another winner. At this point, I've bought quite a few Barrister and Mann products. The quality is constant--I get a good lather quickly. So now I just look at the scent. And this is a great, warm, holiday scent. There's a bit of spice, a bit of freshness, and a bit of citrus. This one will definitely stick in the rotation for the cold months ahead. "
Eric C.
12/04/2018
Also got the soap
"Got the soap as a sample and was ecstatic when it came out. Had to buy the aftershave when it came out. Great smell."
Duane
12/04/2018
Love this soap
"I got a sample of this with one of my previous orders before it was officially out. Been waiting for B&M to put it out and ordered as soon as it appeared. Great smell, very fresh!"
Duane
12/04/2018
New soap for me
"Great smell and lathers well!"
Duane B.
12/03/2018
Work it
"This is my first review on any item that I purchased. I am a fan of B&M's Reserve soaps. The aroma of this soap is pleasant but not over bearing. You won't feel guilty and turn in your man card when using it. This soap like the other reserve soaps are water hungry. Yet a little bit (25 swirls of your brush) goes a long way. This soap is ideal with a mild gap razor with sharp blade. The razor doesn't get clogged because the lather doesn't tend to dry up and be too thick."
James
12/03/2018
Waves Shave Soap
"Well if you like the vintage Gillette Wild Rain scent then this shave soap is for you. The reserve base loves its water so when loading don’t be afraid to have a little extra water in the brush. Synthetic’s work the best with this soap base. The soap is slick protective and irritation free. My neck is very sensitive and usually gets irritated after the first pass and this soap allows me to get a closer shave with almost no irritation than other soaps. Smells great performs great give it a shot."
Austin
12/03/2018
Waves Aftershave
"Very very very good Aftershave splash. Loaded with all the skin food your skin needs. I’ve heard the scent is supposed to smell like Gillette’s Wild Rain scent. That being said I prefer performance over scent and this Aftershave splash checks both boxes. Smells great and the performance is everything you’d expect from B&M!"
Austin W.
12/02/2018
Unique
"This is a very complex and unique scent. The soap performs as usual. Top of the line"
Scott Leitenberger
12/02/2018
Impressed
"This is a very unique and complex scent. Very masculine. I love it"
Scott Leitenberger
12/02/2018
Outstanding
"I love the smell and performance of this afteeshave"
Scott Leitenberger

Sign Up for Our Mailing List!